Cancel

OK

 

OK

Ocean Acidification Week

A virtual multi-day forum to highlight ocean acidification research and initiatives

8-10 September 2020

 

Goals

The key goals of OA Week are to:

  1. Engage the ocean acidification and broader oceanographic communities, raise awareness to the issue of ocean acidification, and bring attention to the global efforts being conducted related to monitoring, research, capacity building, capacity needs, and education.
  2. Maintain momentum around the upcoming 5th International Symposium on the Ocean in a High CO2 World, and share progress on GOA-ON's three High-level Goals.
  3. Serve as the "kick off" to a new GOA-ON Webinar Series.

 

Sessions

Each session will be hosted by a different GOA-ON regional hub and will be approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes. Each session will feature 3-5 short presentations that will be immediately followed by a live panel discussion and Q&A with the speakers. All sessions will be archived on the GOA-ON Youtube Channel.

Sessions will span several time zones to be conducive to a broad, international audience.

The Program in Brief contains the OA Week session schedule, the list of speakers, and the titles of their talks.

The Full Program expands upon the Program in Brief by including short abstracts of the talks.

Tuesday, 8 September 2020

Session 1 — Pacific Islands and Territories OA Hub

02:00 Greenwich Mean Time (UTC)

14:00 New Zealand Standard Time (UTC +12)

Please pre-register for the session

Learn more about the PI-TOA Hub

Session 2 — Mediterranean OA Hub

10:00 Greenwich Mean Time (UTC)

12:00 noon Central European Summer Time (UTC +2)

Please pre-register for the session

Learn more about the OA Med Hub

Session 3 — North American Hub

19:00 Greenwich Mean Time (UTC)

12:00 noon Pacific Daylight Time (UTC -7)

Please pre-register for the session

Learn more about the North American Hub

Wednesday, 9 September 2020

Session 4 — Arctic Hub

10:00 Greenwich Mean Time (UTC)

12:00 noon Central European Summer Time (UTC +2)

Please pre-register for the session

Session 5 — OA Africa Hub

13:00 Greenwich Mean Time (UTC)

15:00 Central Africa Time (UTC +2)

Please pre-register for the session

Learn more about the OA Africa Hub

Session 6 — LAOCA (Latin American & Caribbean) Hub

17:00 Greenwich Mean Time (UTC)

12:00 noon Peru Time (UTC -5)

Please pre-register for the session

Learn more about the LAOCA Hub

Thursday, 10 September 2020

Session 7 — Northeast Atlantic Hub, Part 1

10:00 Greenwich Mean Time (UTC)

12:00 noon Central European Summer Time (UTC +2)

Please pre-register for the session

Learn more about the Northeast Atlantic Hub

Session 8 — Northeast Atlantic Hub, Part 2

13:00 Greenwich Mean Time (UTC)

15:00 Central European Summer Time (UTC +2)

Please pre-register for the session

Learn more about the Northeast Atlantic Hub

Session 9 — Friends of GOA-ON

15:00 Greenwich Mean Time (UTC)

11:00 Eastern Daylight Time (UTC -4)

Please pre-register for the session

Learn more about the Friends of GOA-ON: GOOS, MBON, The Ocean Foundation, and The International Alliance to Combat OA

Session 10 — Capstone Presentation

20:00 Greenwich Mean Time (UTC)

13:00 Pacific Daylight Time (UTC -7)

Please pre-register for the session

Learn more about GOA-ON and the 5th International Symposium on the Ocean in a High CO2 World

 

Organizational Partners